Community Board of CHNK

Established in 1935 as a volunteer fundraising group at Children’s Home of Northern Kentucky, the Community Board has one goal: to provide hope and opportunity.

The individuals who comprise today’s Community Board look a bit different from the original board in 1935. Today’s members are no longer the wives of the (then) male-dominated Board of Trustees. They are now business professionals, entrepreneurs, activists, parents, and philanthropists making time in their busy 21st century schedules to put the needs of at-risk youth on their priority list. They do this in multiple ways:

Community Engagement

 When CHNK participates in community events, Community Board members assist our Development Office in bridge building with the wider community. Whether it’s a Memorial Day Parade, an agency recognition event at a Reds game, or a local music festival, these volunteers (and often, their families!) show up to help raise awareness for CHNK and the youth in its care.

Interested in joining?

  • The board meets monthly, typically at 6:00 p.m. on the second Tuesday of the month
  • Participate in the planning and implementation of fundraising activities
  • Make a minimum annual gift of $500.00 to CHNK
  • Commit to driving annual fundraising goals via ticket sales, sponsorships & corporate support
  • Actively participate in Community Board meetings
  • Serve on at least one committee of the Community Board
  • Support agency needs of volunteer time and talent, as needed
  • Attend CHNK community engagement events
  • Regularly respond to emails and other communications in which feedback or information has been requested
  • Positively promote the Board and CHNK in the wider community, verbally, in written communications, and digitally via social media
  • Refrain, as a current or former member, from sharing CHNK mailing lists, donor lists, donor information, client information, or other confidential information with other organizations, groups, charitable entities, corporations, or the like
  • Refrain, as a current or former member, from sharing inaccurate or untruthful information – or from making derogatory or otherwise damaging comments – relating to the organization, its programs, its employees, or its volunteers, including other members of the Community Board

Become a part of the Community Board legacy! For more information on joining, contact the CHNK Office for Development at 859.261.8768 or email [email protected].

My father grew up in an orphanage after his father unexpectedly passed away. I’ve always wanted to give back to an organization that provides hope and opportunity to at-risk youth and families. CHNK does that and so much more.
Melissa Brooks

Community Board President, 2020-2021