Board of Trustees

The governing body of CHNK Behavioral Health, our Board of Trustees meets quarterly to strategize around matters of programming, fundraising, and advocacy. Each trustee first serves as a Subject Matter Expert to the board before being elected to an official trusteeship. Board members at CHNK are innovators, dreamers, and risk takers. They recognize that growth and change are necessary to address the ever-evolving mental health needs of the wider community. 

CHNK proudly recognizes the following individuals who serve on our Fiscal Year 2024 Board of Trustees: 

Executive Officers

Jeffery Sackenheim Board President head shot

Jeffrey Sackenheim

Board of Trustees President

President-elect, Director of Architecture at SHP

Geoff Egbers

Board of Trustees Vice President

Hospice Chaplain, (Retired)

Josh Ruth Treasurer, Finance Chair head shot

Josh Ruth

Board of Trustees Treasurer

Assistant Vice President, Huntington Bank

Members at Large

Dorothy Air, PhD

Co-founder, Partnerships Playbook Consulting

Barry Applegate Development Committee head shot

Barry Applegate, DMD

Owner, Applegate Dentistry

Charlene Erler Real Estate & Facilities Committee head shot

Charlene Erler

Real Estate & Facilities Committee

Owner, C&G Erler Interior Design

Peggy Essert, PHR, SHRM-CP

Chair, Human Resources/Personnel Committee

Human Resources, St. Elizabeth Hospital

Ted Gaeddert

Real Estate & Facilities Committee

Senior Operations Manager (Retired)

Karen Morgan

Chair, Development Committee

CFM Operations Managers

Robert Simmons

Chair, Real Estate & Facilities Committee

Vice President of Operations, EGC Construction

Jeff Thomas

Chair, Development Committee

CEO of Jeff Thomas Catering

Subject Matter Experts

Subject Matter Experts (SMEs) have skill sets relevant to at least one of the standing committees of the CHNK Board of Trustees and serve at the pleasure of the Board. They serve one-year terms, renewable indefinitely, and unlike trustees they do not have voting power. SMEs serving on the Fiscal Year 2024 Board of Trustees include:

Steve Crawford

Finance Committee

Owner, Crawford Insurance

Sharon Fritz

Development Committee

Teacher, Kenton County Schools

Bobbie Glass

Treatment Services Committee

Professor at University of the Cumberlands

Eric Knapp

Development Committee

Community Impact Manager, Western Southern Life

Matthew Lehman

Treatment Services Committee

CEO, Pluto Immunotherapeutic

Gail Myers

Development Committee

Gail Myers Public Relations, LLC (Retired)

Ed Palmer head shot

Edward Palmer

Program Committee

Senior Pastor, The Sign of The Dove Church

Mindy Rector

Finance Committee

VP, Supply Chain Product Experience & Emerging Models Kroger

Sal Santoro

Development Committee


Christopher Wilson

Development Committee

VP and General Counsel, Altafiber (Cincinnati Bell)

Want more information about serving on the Board of Trustees?

Reach Out